Candidates behind the ban

Candidates for the 2019 Australian federal election are joining their parliamentary colleagues in declaring support for Australia to sign and ratify the UN Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons.

If elected, candidates that “pre-pledge” will be listed as signatories to the Parliamentary Pledge (see text below). The following list of supportive candidates does not include incumbents, who are listed here.


Candidates that support the nuclear weapon ban treaty:
Chad Anderson   Independent candidate for Leichhardt, QLD
Luke Arthur   Greens candidate for Chisholm, VIC
Jack Ayoub   Labor candidate for Parkes, NSW
Tim Ayres   Labor Senate candidate for NSW
Jason Ball   Greens candidate for Higgins, VIC
Andrew Bartlett   Greens candidate for Brisbane, QLD
Tom Baster   Labor candidate for Bowman, QLD
Barbara Bell   Greens candidate for Bonner, QLD
Tracey Bell   Labor candidate for Moncrieff, QLD
Karin Bolton   Labor candidate for Grey, SA
Paul Boundy   Greens candidate for Sturt, SA
Anne Bourne   Greens candidate for Mayo, SA
Bill Brindle   Labor candidate for Casey, VIC
Andrea Broadfoot  Centre Alliance candidate for Grey, SA
Josh Burns   Labor candidate for Macnamara, VIC
Julian Burnside   Greens candidate for Kooyong, VIC
Andrew Castrique   Australian Democrats Senate candidate for SA
Nadia Clancy   Labor candidate for Boothby, SA
Libby Coker   Labor candidate for Corangamite, VIC
Damien Cole   Independent candidate for Corangamite, VIC
David Collyer   Australian Democrats Senate candidate for VIC 
Benedict Coyne   Greens candidate for Dickson, QLD
Peter Cossar   Labor candidate for Ryan, QLD
Liberty Cramer   Greens candidate for Swan, WA
Simon Curtis   Labor candidate for La Trobe, VIC
Emma Davidson   Greens Senate candidate for the ACT
Patrick Deegan   Labor candidate for Page, NSW
Kieran Drabsch   Labor candidate for Farrer, NSW
Kamala Emanuel   Socialist Alliance candidate for Brisbane, QLD
Katy Gallagher   Labor Senate candidate for the ACT
Chris Gambian   Labor candidate for Banks, NSW
Kristyn Glanville   Greens candidate for Warringah, NSW
Jess Gonsalvez   Greens candidate for Hotham, VIC
Helen Haines   Independent candidate for Indi, VIC
Des Hardman   Labor candidate for Forde, QLD
Dean Harris   Labor candidate for Warringah, NSW
Belinda Hassan  Labor candidate for Dawson, QLD
Chris Haviland   Labor candidate for Bradfield. NSW
Tim Hollo   Greens candidate for Canberra, ACT
Steph Hodgins-May   Greens candidate for Macnamara, VIC
Antoinette Holm   Labor candidate for Gippsland, VIC
Charles Jago   Greens candidate for Reid, NSW
Mark Jeffreson   Labor candidate for Riverina, NSW
Eric Kerr   Labor candidate for Indi, VIC
Penny Kyburz   Greens Senate candidate for the ACT
Bill Lodwick   Labor candidate for Nicholls, VIC
John MacKenzie   Greens candidate for Newcastle, NSW
Ben McGregor   Labor candidate for Clark, TAS
Fiona McLeod   Labor candidate for Higgins, VIC
Rob Meecham Labor candidate for Curtin, WA
Lee-Anne Miles   Greens candidate for Hasluck, WA
Jason Modica   Independent candidate for Mallee, VIC
Peta Murphy   Labor candidate for Dunkley, VIC
Paul Newbury   Labor candidate for Brisbane, QLD
Simon Northeast   Greens candidate for Corangamite, VIC
Jessica O’Donnell   Labor candidate for Monash, VIC
Daniel Parsell   Labor candidate for Fisher, QLD
Alicia Payne   Labor candidate for Canberra, ACT
Kadira Pethiyagoda   Labor candidate for Aston, VIC
Fiona Phillips   Labor candidate for Gilmore, NSW
Adam Pulford   Greens candidate for Wills, VIC
David Risstrom   Greens candidate for Cooper, VIC
Nicole Rowan   Greens candidate for Mallee, VIC
Stef Rozitis   Greens candidate for Boothby, SA
Kim Samiotis   Greens candidate for Isaacs, VIC
Aaron Santelises   Labor candidate for McPherson, QLD
John Short   Labor candidate for the Senate, TAS
Grant Shultz   Independent candidate for Gilmore, NSW
Joshua Sinclair   Labor candidate for Flinders, VIC
Declan Steele   Labor candidate for Mackeller, NSW
Jana Stewart   Labor candidate for Kooyong, VIC
Kate Thwaites   Labor candidate for Jagajaga, VIC
Kim Travers   Labor candidate for Pearce, WA
Sam Wainwright   Socialist Alliance candidate for Fremantle, WA 
Nancy Waites   Labor Senate candidate for the ACT
Giz Watson   Greens Senate Candidate for WA
James Williams   Greens candidate for Maribyrnong, VIC
Andrew Woodward   Labor candidate for Cowper, NSW
Jennifer Yang   Labor candidate for Chisholm, VIC
Oliver Yates   Independent candidate for Kooyong, VIC
If you are a candidate for the 2019 federal election you may “pre-pledge” by emailing


Incumbents that support the nuclear weapon ban treaty:
Anthony Albanese MP
Anne Aly MP
Adam Bandt MP
Julia Banks MP
Senator Catryna Bilyk
Sharon Bird MP
Chris Bowen MP
Senator Carol Brown
Tony Burke MP
Linda Burney MP
Mark Butler MP
Terri Butler MP
Anthony Byrne MP
Senator Kim Carr
Nick Champion MP
Lisa Chesters MP
Senator Anthony Chisholm
Sharon Claydon MP
Senator Jacinta Collins
Julie Collins MP
Pat Conroy MP
Senator Richard Di Natale
Senator Patrick Dodson
Mark Dreyfus MP
Justine Elliot MP
Warren Entsch MP
Senator Mehreen Faruqi
Joel Fitzgibbon MP
Mike Freelander MP
Steve Georganas MP
Andrew Giles MP
Patrick Gorman MP
Senator Stirling Griff 
Senator Sarah Hanson-Young
Ross Hart MP
Chris Hayes MP
Julian Hill MP
Ed Husic MP
Stephen Jones MP
Ged Kearney MP
Justine Keay MP
Mike Kelly MP
Senator Kristina Keneally
Matt Keogh MP
Senator Chris Ketter
Peter Khalil MP
Catherine King MP
Susan Lamb MP
Senator Sue Lines
Senator Gavin Marshall
Senator Jenny McAllister
Emma McBride MP
Senator Malarndirri McCarthy
Senator Nick McKim
Brian Mitchell MP
Rob Mitchell MP
Brendan O’Connor MP
Ken O’Dowd MP
Clare O’Neil MP
Cathy O’Toole MP
Julie Owens MP
Graham Perrett MP
Tanya Plibersek MP
Senator Helen Polley
Senator Louise Pratt
Senator Janet Rice
Michelle Rowland MP
Joanne Ryan MP
Rebekha Sharkie MP
Senator Rachel Siewert
Senator Lisa Singh
Senator David Smith
Warren Snowdon MP
Anne Stanley MP
Senator Jordon Steele-John
Senator Tim Storer
Susan Templeman MP
Matt Thistlethwaite MP
Senator Anne Urquhart
Maria Vamvakinou MP
Senator Larissa Waters
Senator Murray Watt
Senator Peter Whish-Wilson
Andrew Wilkie MP
Josh Wilson MP
Tony Zappia MP


Pledge for the Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons

[quote style=”1″]We, the undersigned parliamentarians,

warmly welcome the adoption of the UN Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons on 7 July 2017 as a significant step towards the realization of a nuclear-weapon-free world.

We share the deep concern expressed in the preamble about the catastrophic humanitarian consequences that would result from any use of nuclear weapons and we recognize the consequent need to eliminate these inhumane and abhorrent weapons.

As parliamentarians, we pledge to work for the signature and ratification of this landmark treaty by our respective countries, as we consider the abolition of nuclear weapons to be a global public good of the highest order and an essential step to promote the security and well-being of all peoples.[/quote]